In both OneDrive and SharePoint you can change the permissions of individual files and folders, most of this comes under share options.
OneDrive is incredibly simple to manage. To share something open the document and press Share in the top right corner. This will allow you to invite people via their email address, name, or a via a group on our system. As shown below I can share with all the Tech department at once.
They do not have to have an @lsu.co.uk email address, but to send it to someone outside the Union you need to untick Require Sign-in. The Show options link allows you to untick the Send an email invitation option. We recommend keeping that ticked as most likely the person(s) you shared it with won't notice that you've shared it otherwise.
Once you have entered all your names or email addresses, clicking Share will complete the process. You will recieve and email notifcation saying you have shared an item, this is useful for knowing if someone else is sharing your documents, as an important thing to note is anyone with permissions to that document can share those permissions with anyone else.
From this box you can also click Shared with, to show who has access to what and at what level. Levels include:
Owner, normally just yourself, you have full control, to view, edit and delete the file.
Can edit, like owner but cannot delete the file itself, but they can delete everything in the file.
Can view, no permission to edit the document, just to read it. You can edit these permissions by simply opening the dropdown box next to their name.
Alternatively, you can remove everyone at once by pressing Stop Sharing at the bottom.
In OneDrive it is much harder to give permissions to lots of files at once, however, it is possible. In the OneDrive list view, where you can see everything in your OneDrive, right-click on a folder (this also works for a file) and click details. A side bar will appear on the right and in the first section there will be a link saying Change Permissions, here there is an option add people.
The same box as before will come up but in this you can tick or untick a box that allows access to everything in the folder or just share the folder.
Permissions for individual files are just like in OneDrive except you can easily access the Share box from just right-clicking a file or folder and clicking Share.
However, since SharePoint is organised into Sites, knowing how to manage a site's permissions, which are automatically given to all files and folders within the site, is quite important.
To do this, you need to click the cog at the top right of the purple bar and click Shared With. A similiar box will show up, but note it doesn't specifically tell you what access these people have, see the example shown below.
Again, you can invite people or groups to the entire Sharepoint using the Invite People option. Importantly, under the options tab you can select a permission level. Again this works just like in OneDrive, with read being just opening files, edit being just editing files and full control being deleting files.
Full control also gives them the ability to change things in the SharePoint. Since SharePoint is a 'site' there are many more things you can do with it than just store files, Full Control over the SharePoint is what gives people the permissions to change those things.
There are some more advanced options available. We recommend against this, but if you click on the cog in the top corner and click in the corresponding dropdown menu Site Settings you get a full list of settings. The first section of which is Users and Permissions. On a sub-site, clicking into permissions will show you some options for inheritance. Inheritance means the sub-site has the same permissions as the parent site. However, changing whether permissions are inherited or not can have some adverse effects so its best left untouched.
For some Team Sites, permissions will be allocated via groups in the IT System (you can also add these groups to your SharePoint), as in the example of the Nursery Permissions, nursery staff and management are automatically added, which may mean you never have to worry about your permissions. However, not all departments have one single group covering all of their staff. This is, however, if you send a list of your staff to ITSupport@lsu.co.uk then this is something we can set up for you.